A lot of directions could be taken with this weeks topic. One could either give advice on how to create a professional online profile – which is what a lot of other blogs seemed to focus on – or, one could really break down the question and analyse what it means to be authentic, the debate around authenticity and the question of authentic and professional. This is what I tried to convey in my blog. As there was quite a lot I could write about it really helped being able to make some infographics to add this extra information.

In my own blog I had raised the question of whether you can have an authentic and professional blog or whether the two are a contradiction in terms. On Niks blog, he mentions Hilary Clinton and of course it hit me that she is the perfect example of the dilemma I pose above. During the US elections ‘Clinton was professional. She did everything to the letter – she followed the well-trodden political path. However, the most unprofessional human being in the world got voted in – and yet he was the most authentic candidate’.

Tobie’s blog got me thinking about whether we can teach authenticity and I stumbled across the authenticity paradox, which is ‘If we define authenticity as simply being your true self, then we really shouldn’t have to look for it in the first place. If we’re looking for it, then we’ve already lost it’. It would have been nice to hear his thoughts on this but sadly there was no reply to my comment.

My own blog recieved one comment, which said my graphic on hints and tips was useful and offered a different perspective to making a proffesional online profile. It also inadvertently highlighted that you can’t have both an authentic and professional online profile.

 

